Radio Broadcasting is Confusing

Before reading Wikipedia articles I knew nothing at all about radio broadcasting. Two days and hundreds of links later I can confidently say that I now know even less than I did when I first started out.

My question is rather simple I think. Can a college radio station continue to broadcast after the inevitable zombie apocalypse? How about after the power grid fails and the internet flat-lines for most people? Google gives me a lot of pages on ham radio operators and emergency response communication systems, but I’ve yet to come across any answer as to the operational status of pre-setup AM or FM stations. I get a few pages that seem to have my answer but don’t appear to be written in anything approaching the English language.

English should not be primarily written in numbers.

So, I’ve had to learn all about the entire thing on my own, mostly through wiki articles, because there is no for dummies page that I’ve found yet. The fact that over half of the pages I find are filled with FCC regulations and permits and rules is not helping in the least. It’s good information for people wanting to broadcast legally, sure, but doesn’t have anything to do with what I need to know.

I need to know what equipment is needed, what kind of power supply is needed to run it, if they’d use high or low power, and how long they can expect to run the station. Not how to legally apply for a call-sign or the forms to fill out for a license. Starting to Google free radio now. Hopefully, I’ll find better instructions through them.

Either that or the FCC’ll be knocking on my door wondering where my antenna is.


Leave a Reply

